MLC elections: Marithibbe Gowda re-elected, Capt Ganesh Karnik trails

Mysuru: The counting of votes for the election of representatives for the Legislative Council is underway in various centres in Mysuru, Gulbarga, and Bengaluru today, i.e., June 12.

As per latest reports, in the South Teachers’ Constituency three-time MLC Marithibbe Gowda of the Janata Dal (S) has been re-elected to the council once again. After the 8th round of counting Marithibbe Gowda received 7170 votes beating his nearest rival and Congress candidate M Lakshmana. As nobody received the winning quota, the last standing candidate, Marthibbe Gowda was declared the winner.

In the South West Teachers’ Constituency, the sitting MLC Capt. Ganesh Karnik of the BJP was trailing after the 7th round of counting for the South West Teachers’ Constituency. S L Bhoje Gowda was in the lead with 6283 votes whereas Capt. Ganesh Karnik received 5376 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *