JD(S) moves HC for disqualification of seven rebels

Bengaluru: Two JD(S) MLAs moved the Karnataka High Court seeking directions to the Speaker to dispose of the petition seeking disqualification of seven rebel MLAs of the party pending before him on or before March 23, 2018. As an interim prayer, the petitioners have sought directions from the court to the speaker not to permit them to cast votes in the ensuing election for Rajya Sabha, scheduled to be held on March 23, 2018.

The seven MLAs are B Z Zameer Ahmed Khan, N Cheluvarayaswamy, A B Ramesha Bandisiddegowda, H C Balakrishna, R Akhanda Srinivas Murthy, Iqbal Ansari and Bheemanaik. The petition filed by C N Balakrishna, MLA, Shravanabelagola Assembly Constituency and B B Ningaiah, MLA, Mudigere Assembly Constituency, will be heard on Tuesday by Justice Raghvendra S Chauhan.

The petitioners contended that the seven MLAs stood disqualified from the time they voted against the official candidate of JD(S) B M Farooq in the Rajya Sabha election held on June 11, 2016, contrary to the whip issued by the party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *