BJP sweeps coastal Karnataka

Mangaluru: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has swept coastal Karnataka by winning most seats in 3 districts of Dakshina Kannada, Udupi and Uttara Kannada.

In Dakshina Kannada alone, the BJP won 7 seats out of eight, thereby reversing the 2013 election trend.

Party heavy weight and state forest minister Ramanath Rai, former minister Abhaychandra Jain suffered huge defeat against their rivals. Only Food and civil supplies minister U T Khader managed to retain his seat in Mangaluru constituency. Mangaluru South MLA J R lobo, who was expected to retain his seat also suffered defeat at the hands of entrant Vedavyas Kamath of the BJP. Kamath’s victory margin exeeding 16,000 votes suggest that even the prominent Christian community voted against J R Lobo. In Mangaluru North, which has substantial minority populace, Congress candidate Moideen Bawa lost to his nearest rival first timer Dr Bharat Shetty of BJP.

The case remained to be the same in places like Sullia, Belthangady, Puttur as well.

In nearby Udupi district, the BJP won all 5 assembly segments. Even minister Pramod Madhwaraj, who was known for his exemplary performance as a legislator failed to survive the BJP onslaught. In Kundapur, Halady Srinivas Shetty, who returned to the BJP recently defeated his nearest Congress rival Rakesh Malli by over 56,000 votes. Former minister Lalaji Mendon of BJP defeated veteran Congress leader Vinay Kumar Sorake of the Congress by a margin of nearly 12,000 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *